Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Sign In | Join/Renew
News & Press: Press Release

FSP Foundation Announces Journal Author Awards

Tuesday, April 17, 2018   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Anne Rigney



FSP Foundation Announces Journal Author Awards


The Foundation for Financial Service Professionals is pleased to announce the recipients of the Kenneth Black, Jr., Journal Author Awards for articles published in the Journal of Financial Service Professionals during the 2017 calendar year:

First Place: Lewis Hershey, PhD, MA, Annemarie M. Kelly, JD, LLM, and Boris Abbey, PhD, JD, MBA, for “Enabling ABLE: Five Potential Positives for Implementing the ABLE Act,” March 2017

Second Place: Robert Pokorski, MD, MBA, and Brett W. Berg, JD, LLM, CLU, ChFC, for “Retirement Planning: Coping with Higher Health Care Costs,” May 2017

Third Place: John L. Olsen, CLU, ChFC, AEP, for “Index Annuities: Looking under the Hood,” November 2017

The award, established in 1988, was created to advance scholarly research and writing and to build the library of knowledge in the financial services field.  It was named for Kenneth Black, Jr., PhD, a respected author and educator, who served as the Journal’s editor from 1959-2001. 

Michael P. Dow, CPA, CLU, ChFC, AEP, chair of the Foundation Board of Trustees congratulated each of these distinguished authors and thanked them for their important contributions to the Journal and the overall body of literature in financial services. He also thanked Kenn B. Tacchino, JD, LLM, Journal editor since 2001, and professor of taxation and financial planning at Widener University, for his extraordinary contributions in ensuring the ongoing excellence of this prestigious 72-year-old publication.


Contact: Anne Rigney, 610-526-2536 or




The Foundation for Financial Service Professionals, the charitable arm of the Society of Financial Service Professionals, impacts the lives of individuals with scholarships and financial education. More information is available at

Partners of FSP